VALKEAT to release masterpiece “Fireborn” 


Finnish Metal Saga Continues: VALKEAT Unleash ‘Fireborn’ – A Haunting Chapter in Folk Metal History

Magic and wonder are an exclusive part of Finnish metal sagas. This music represents the sound of falling snow, howling wolves, shining stars and the flickering spirits of the northern lights like no other. VALKEAT are the latest ambassadors of this Finnish cultural heritage. Formed in 2014 in Espoo, the hometown of the almighty CHILDREN OF BODOM, the six-piece band with two kantele players is about to set the world of folk metal ablaze with their second wilderness call “Fireborn“, a haunting, enchanted piece of Finnish metal history.

The album will be released on August 18, 2023 via Reaper Entertainment. The band will play a release show as part of this year’s Summer Breeze Open-Air.

“We at the Valkeat Camp are super proud to finally announce our mammoth 68-minute album: FIREBORN. We have spent years working on this behemoth and are happy to finally bring it to light on August 18. We look forward to proving to everyone that it was worth the wait!”

The band comments

Something big is coming. “Fireborn” is the album that will lead a new generation of Finnish Modern Folk & Symphonic Metal. A new beginning, a new perspective on those magical, otherworldly melodies that have delighted us for decades. We can’t really believe ourselves what this band has created here – “Fireborn” is a flaming, uplifting, enchanted love letter to Finland and its thousand wonders.

The first single “Tribe” will be released on June 02 along with an elaborate video clip. Click here so you don’t miss the premiere:

The “Fireborn” tracklist reads as follows:
1 My Crown
2 Tribe
3 Swan Song (Lemminkäinen)
4 Ukko
5 Moraš
6 Fireborn
7 Karjalan Kunnailla
8 Summer Nights
9 Iku
10 Tule Kokko
11 Thunderbird
12 Vana
13 Kuolematon
14 Land of Falling Leaves – Song up the Skies

Named after the magical artifact Sampo from the “Kalevala”, an artifact that creates eternal wealth, “Fireborn” was forged mostly at the renowned Sonic Pump Studios in Helsinki.

Miikka Virtapuro – Vocals
Aleksi Kulmala – Guitar
Juho Aarnio – Bass
Eppu Puhjo – Kantele
Iida-Maria Kuronen – Kantele
Vesa Laamanen – Drums


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here