Jefferson Starship Release New EP “Mother of The Sun”

jefferson starship

Jefferson Starship publish a their New EP “Mother of The Sun” and the lyric video o for the song “What Are We Waiting For?

Legendary rock band Jefferson Starship (featuring David FreibergDonny BaldwinCathy RichardsonChris Smith, and Jude Gold) have released their new EP, Mother of the Sunvia Golden Robot Records and it is available now in stores and across digital streaming platforms. Mother of the Sunis Jefferson Starship‘s first collection of new songs in 12 years. To accompany the release, the band have dropped a lyric video for the track What Are We Waiting For?.

The seven tracks on Mother of the Sun include two songs co-written by original Jefferson Starship/Jefferson Airplane members — It’s About Time co-written with Grace Slick and another co-written with Marty Balin. The collection also features the return of original Jefferson Starship member Pete Sears, who plays bass on three tracks.

Paul Kantner was our bandleader and the visionary who kept Jefferson Starship going through so many eras,” says Richardson. “He inspired so much about this record, from the messages in the lyrics to the title and album art to the collaborative process of creating music as a band with some of his original muses – Grace, Marty, and Pete. Mother of the Sun is dedicated to PK.”

While Jefferson Starship’s current members have been touring incessantly (including playing five continents with Kantner before his passing in 2016), Kantner’s final “crew” has mostly been riding out the pandemic in their homes. That hasn’t stopped them from planning a massive 2021 tour to support Mother of the Sun.


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here