BENEVOLENT LIKE QUIETUS release first single ‘Dawn of Rust’


Calgary Goth Metal BENEVOLENT LIKE QUIETUS Premiere First Single ‘Dawn of Rust’ Off Upcoming Album

In a scene where thrash and speed metal rule the roost, Calgary’s Benevolent Like Quietus stand out with their unique, goth rock-tinged melodic metal. BLQ has been lurking in the Canadian underground metal scene since 2015 and over the past half a decade, incubating their debut album “Kill The Bliss”, which will be released on March 13, 2020.

BLQ has high expectations for this album that encapsulates the passion, work, and dedication that the band prides itself on. This album is 100% DIY, the band created, recorded and produced the entire thing for maximum control.

“We think it should be received as a testament to our tireless effort to create our own unique brand of heavy music that is equal parts heavy, melodic, gloomy and just rockable. It’s brooding, depressive, dark, uneasy and often aggressive.  Listening to it you can understand why we named it “Kill The Bliss”. It’s not all doom and gloom though. There are some positive moments as well.”

The first single off “Kill The Bliss” is ‘Dawn of Rust’, one of the more mellow songs on the album.

“With the new single ‘Dawn of Rust’, we’re hoping to give a good glimpse of the album to come without pulling out all the stops.  The song is a lament to the daily grind of life, societal pressure and overall decay of joy. Basically, if you can’t relate, you may not be human.”

Fans that enjoy brooding and heavy metal such as Type O Negative, Moonspell, and Sentenced will enjoy BLQ.


Hailing from the cold, dark winter nights of Calgary, Canada; Benevolent Like Quietus brings forth a bounty of brooding, goth rock-influenced melodic metal. Laden with heavy riffs, catchy melodies and crushing breakdowns, the 5-piece metal act lyrically exploits the joy in sorrow and strife within life, love and death.

Dabbling in gloom, BLQ is a dark, musical metaphor for the sweet kiss of death. Collectively drawing influences from far and wide across the metal and rock spectrum BLQ has worked tirelessly to craft their own unique sound within the Canadian music scene.

Keen to revisit the era of 90s European goth/melancholic rock, BLQ is a heavy and brooding whirlwind of emotion and melody. Each song starts with Ryan Spencer (drums) who writes the music on guitar and together with Daniel Louden (vocals) put together the basic guitar and vocal structures before being worked through by the rest of the band, Ty Frederick (guitar), Killian Murphy (bass), and Matt Springer for the final breath of life.

Despite the melancholic lyrics and themes, Benevolent Like Quietus is straightforward and energetic music. No gimmicks, no BS, just 5 guys playing their hearts out and creating a moment.

Having the pleasure of sharing the stage with touring acts such as Katatonia, Wednesday 13, All Hail The Yeti, Final Drive, Caspian and Invidia along with being nominated in 2018 for Metal Recording of The Year by Calgary’s YYC Music Awards, BLQ continues to build on their live performances delivering a healthy dose of heavy, gloomy tunes to their audiences with no foreseeable end in sight. Their debut album “Kill The Bliss” is slated for release on March 13th, 202

“Kill The Bliss” Track Listing:

1. The Beginning of An End (4:04)
2. My Favourite Enemy (4:24)
3. The Great Divide (3:42)
4. Soil of The Grave (4:42)
5. The Rise and The Fall (4:21)
6. Mad World (Tears For Fears cover) (4:49)
7. Where Dead Hearts Reside (3:40)
8. Love’s Inferno (4:38)
9. Dawn of Rust (4:42)
10. Darkness Collides (3:31)
11. A Voluntary Disease (3:27)
Album Length: 46:09


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here